The Enneagram is a dynamic personality model that deeply describes the core motivations, needs, and fears that unconsciously drive us to engage life in consistent (and often constricting) ways. These patterns that helped us survive and cope with life experiences over time become rigid, fixed, and automatic, keeping us unconsciously trapped in painful lifestyles and relationship patterns that restrict growth and true thriving.

Unless we “wake up” and truly notice and understand our reactive patterns in order to consciously make healthier choices, we will end up reinforcing these patterns and become even more stuck, trapped, and deprived of our deeply legitimate needs.

If you are confused about why you keep finding yourself in the same difficult dynamics, or feel trapped in your current patterns, the Enneagram may provide clarity into:

  • Why you do what you do,

  • What your core needs and fears are,

  • How to become more self-controlled

The Enneagram is a map that help you discover where you are now and where you could be as you heal and grow. It shows you a way to break free of uncontrollable patterns, become more consciously present in life, and feel more empowered to engage life in wholesome and satisfying ways.

The Nine Types of the Enneagram

Melinda Olsen, therapy, counseling, emerging adults, young adults, enneagram, brainspotting, premarital therapy, premarital counseling, marriage therapy, marriage counseling, transitions, trauma, anxiety, stress, HSPSan Jose, silicon valley, campbell, los gatos, Santa clara

TYPE One: The Perfectionist

  • Ethical, dedicated, reliable, critical of self and others

  • Focus on what could be better, what's wrong

  • Motivated by a desire to live the right way, improve the world

  • Avoid fault and blame

Type two: The Helper

  • Warm, friendly, caring, giving, others-oriented

  • Focus on being connected to others

  • Motivated by a need to be liked/loved and needed

  • Avoid rejection, acknowledging and expressing own needs

Type three: The Performer

  • Success-oriented, productive, high achieving, image-conscious

  • Focus on tasks, goals, success, image

  • Motivated by a need to be (or appear to be) successful

  • Avoid failure (and appearing to fail)

type four: The Romantic

  • Creative, emotionally/aesthetically sensitive, moody, self-absorbed

  • Focus on emotions, the state of relationships, being authentically oneself, what's missing

  • Motivated by a need to be understood and to experience their oversized feelings

  • Avoid being ordinary or like others

type Five: The Investigator

  • Analytical, objective, detached, and private

  • Focus on knowledge, privacy, managing energy/space/resources

  • Motivated by a need to gain knowledge, conserve energy

  • Avoid relying on others, emotions

Type Six: The Loyalist

  • Committed, practical, and witty; analytical and strategic

  • Focus on risk, danger, and threats; preparing for the worst

  • Motivated by fear and the need to feel safe and secure

  • Avoid uncertainty and spontaneity

type Seven: The Enthusiast

  • Fun, upbeat, spontaneous, and adventurous

  • Focus on pleasure, positives, possibilities

  • Motivated by a need to be happy, to plan stimulating/exciting experiences

  • Avoid pain and discomfort

type Eight: The Challenger

  • Commanding, high intensity, confrontational, big picture

  • Focus on power and control

  • Motivated by a need to be strong

  • Avoid feeling week or vulnerable, being exploited or betrayed

type Nine: The Peacemaker

  • Pleasant, laid back, accommodating, emotionally steady

  • Focus on others, what's happening in the environment

  • Motivated by a need to keep the peace, achieve harmony, merge with others

  • Avoid conflict, anger, separation from others